American Academy of Microbiology Board of Governors



To submit your vote, click here

Current Board of Governors Members


Candidates for Member, Board of Governors 



Nancy L. Craig


Education: A.B. Biology and Chemistry, Bryn Mawr College; Ph.D. Biochemistry, Cornell University; Postdoctoral Fellow, National Institute of Mental Health (Dr. Howard Nash); Sabbatical, Carnegie Institute of Washington (Dr. Allan C. Spradling).


Present Position: Professor, Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics and Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.


Honors and Awards:  Member, National Academy of Sciences; Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences; Fellow, American Academy of Microbiology; Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science; Alumni Association Excellence in Teaching Award, Johns Hopkins University; Dean’s Lecturer, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine; Division H Lecturer, American Society for Microbiology 100th General Meeting; Distinguished Speaker, 10th Annual Beckman Scholars Symposium, Univ. of California, Irvine; The 2012 Skirball Institute Symposium, New York University.

Professional Activities: Board of Directors, Genetics Society of America; Editorial Board, Molecular Microbiology; Editorial Board, Journal of Biology; Co-Editors-in Chief, Mobile DNA, BioMed Central Ltd.; Scientific Advisory Board of the Charles E. Kaufman Foundation

Susan M. Rosenberg


Education:  BA high honors, Biology (Chemistry, Art), State University of New York Potsdam; MS Biology U Oregon, PhD Molecular Biology U Oregon (with Frank Stahl); Postdoc U. Paris (with Miroslav Radman); Postdoc U Utah. 


PositionsAsst-Assoc Prof U. Alberta, Edmonton, MRC Scientist and Alberta Heritage Foundation Scholar, Canada. 


Present Position: The Ben F Love Chair in Cancer Research, Professor, Molecular and Human Genetics; Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Molecular Virology and Microbiology, Baylor College of Medicine (BCM);  Leader and founder, Cancer Evolvability Program, The Dan Duncan Cancer Center, BCM. 


Honors and Awards:  Fellow, AAM; Fellow AAAS; NIH Director’s Pioneer Award; ASM Distinguished Lecturer; Biosphere and Humanity Medal (Russian Academy of Science & Academy of Medical Sciences); Michael E DeBakey MD Excellence in Research Award; The Eli Lilly /National Cancer Institute of Canada William Rawls Prize; The Genetics Society of Canada Young Scientist Award.


Honorary Lectures:  NIH Director’s Seminar; Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center President’s Seminar.


Professional Activities: SCIENCE Senior Editorial Board; Founder, Gordon Research Conference on Molecular Mechanisms in Evolution and first chair; ASM Division H Chair; PLoS Genetics Reviews Editor; PLoS Biology Academic Editor; DNA Repair Editorial Board; NIH Director’s New Innovator Awards Editorial Review Committee; Organizer Stress, Stress Responses and Mechanisms of Evolvability Meeting, Baeza, Spain.